The Sevnica municipality is a part of the Posavje region, where the Sava River frees itself from its canyon and flows onwards peacefully in wider and slower bends through the fertile valley between the Posavje hills on the left and the Dolenjska hills on the right side.
The mild climate and favourable location for fruit and wine-growing make living amidst the numerous hills of this picturesque landscape an almost fairy-tale experience.
Many old churches and forts with the magnificent Sevnica Castle in the foreground all tell a tale of the vibrant life in the past. The castle vineyard, winery, and granary, a cafe, an animated tour of the castle, magical wedding ceremonies in the castle park... these are just a few of the pearls that the central cultural and historical sightseeing site has to offer.
The old Sevnica city centre, serene provincial squares, and neatly ordered neighbouring village centres still present an ideal place for social gatherings and meetings.
From the Lisca hill, the place with the ultimate view, to vineyard cottages in Malkovec, there are plenty of activities to enjoy for those who seek recreation, ethnological sightseeing, or gourmet treats. We also offer personally tailored tours and trips.
The Sevnica Castle and the Lutheran Cellar
Mighty and steady The Sevnica Castle is watching over Sevnica's old town centre. In the early Middle Ages, in 1043, a large territory owned by Corinthian Countess Hema was traded with the Salzburg Archbishopric. They reconstructed the original late Romanic tower on the top of a hill.
There is an army unit mentioned in 1292 that is surely related to the castle. The official record of the castle date back to 1323, however, already in 1309 a castellan with four guards and a doorman, named Castellum Liectenwald, is mentioned. The Turks made their way to invade the Alpine countries through the Posavje region. It is said that at that time they built an underground passage leading from the castle to the lower Sevnica castle. (Hehehe.) They would use it to escape and hide from Turks.
The fortification of the castle began in the first decades of 16th century. According to prevailing military fortification technique it was given a rectangular shape with round corner towers. Most probably the castle still had the image of a fortress in 1573 when Sevnica was occupied by Gubec peasant army. They were even invited to dinner by the castellan who was Archbishop's servant.
Below the castle walls on south-east hillside there is a facility named Lutrovska klet with defence tower. In the time of Reformation it was used by Protestants. Jurij Dalmatin, who first translated Bible in the Slovenian language, preached Lutheranism in there as well. At that time frescos were made. The style of painting represents a rare example of painting technique using oil tempera on the ordinary painting foundation. Although the Pope Klemen VIII disagreed, the castle was purchased by the owner of Štrajbarski turn and Krško, Inocenc Moscon, in 1595. Subsequent to the abolishment of Protestantism the Catholics refused to use Lutrovska klet (Lutheran Cellar) for religious purposes, so baron Moscon had the chapel built inside the castle. The facility was not demolished though, its eastern part was converted into a tomb and the western into a cellar. The Sevnica Castle had the image of the Rennaisance fortress that was later converted into a comfortable mansion. The yard was renovated with arcades and the exterior was given its present appearance. There is a fountain in the middle of the yard. It is said that it had a magic power and it made the wishes come true.
In 1675 the owner was the Countess Ana Elizabeta Auersperg, born as Moscon. In 1688 the castle was under the ownership of Drašković Counts. In 1725 the Auerspergs owned it again, until Countess Jožefina Keglevich purchased it. Interesting, interesting…
The Baroque period went by without significant changes concerning the castle itself. However, interior was being furnished. At that time the room in the second floor of the south-east tower was painted. There is a wonderful fresco Four Seasons.
When the castle was excluded from the Salzburg feud, it was purchased by Johann Haendl, who acquired aristocratic title Rebenburg. Johann Haendl Rebenburg initiated the arrangement of castle gardens and park. The park was planted with autochthonous and imported trees that offered a comfortable shade to the residents. These trees could tell many love stories.
Numerous statues decorated the surroundings of the castle. Animal sculptures were particularly interesting. It is said that in 1812 Archduke Janez himself came to see the the park. Later on the castle came into the ownership of Albert Gehrenbock. In 1880 Karel Hauser arranged the road to the castle.
In the time of both wars the castle was owned by Countess Matilda Arco Zinneberg. It is said that every night after her husband and daughter died she went to pray in their tomb. The people could see the light that lead from the castle to the Lutheran Cellar and back again.
Nowadays The Sevnica Castle, situated on the hill above the old town centre, and the Lutheran Cellar on its slope are two of the city’s biggest attractions. The castle holds different museum collections and the two nicely renovated buildings nowadays mostly play a cultural and representative part.
In the castle one can also find a reception room in baroque style with a meeting room, a conference and a wedding hall and a gallery. On the 2nd floor of the southeastern tower the visitors can feast their eyes on the beautifully renovated late-baroque frescos. On the 1st floor of the southwestern tower there is a recently renovated chapel in renaissance-baroque style. The castle also holds a school- and firefighting collections, collection on exiles and the collection ‘Kamni govorijo’, ”Talking Stones’. In this collection the remainders of the stone statues offer a glimpse of the life in the late Roman era in this area. There is also the gallery of decorative arts collected by Ivan Razboršek. In the castle one can also find the Castle puppet theatre, whose performances are frequently enjoyed by the children. Due to its incredible acoustics the Lutheran cellar with its renovated façade and roof often hosts musical concerts and other events.
The castle offers many attractions and activities:
-visitors of the castle can watch short films about Sevnica, the castle’s history and a well-known archeological park Ajdovski gradec
- it offers many permanent and temporary exhibitions (baroque salon, tower with frescoes, wedding and conference hall, school collection, firefighting collection, exile collection, Castle Chapel, the Ornamental Arts Collection of Ivan Razboršek and other collections from various artists etc.)
- Sevnica Castle Puppet Theatre with workshops and puppet & theatre plays for the youngest visitors
- on the terraces of the castle hillside stretches a Castle's Vineyard with 500 Blue Franconian vines
- Castle wine cellar with a vast choice of wines & wine tastings & local delicies
- Castle café with
- Castle granary
- Castle Souvenir Shop
- Castle park with marked energy spots and mighty trees
- Magnificent Castle Weddings. They is especially recommended in the summer time when the weather is clear and the ceremony can be held in the gorgeous castle park.
- Animated tours for the youngest which provide children with an insight to the life of Baron Moscon and his escorts & Castle games & workshops
- In the summertime the castle hosts the traditional cultural Summer Festival, which is a series of cultural and entertainment events.
»You are invited to discover the unique experience of the castle’s lavish treasury of offers – let us take you and your young ones into the time of knights and princesses, take a tour of the lavish castle halls, taste exquisite wines in the castle’s wine cellar or beer & other drinks in the Castle café, experience amagnificent wedding in the castle’s park and relax under the mighty trees, you can become the godfather of the castle’s Blaufrankisch vines ...«
OPENING HOURS FOR GUIDED TOURS & SOUVENIR SHOP:
NOVEMBER - MARCH: Mondays-Thursdays: by prior arrangement via telephone ++386(0)51680289 Fridays: 15.00 - 18.00 Saturdays, Sundays and Holidays: 12.00 - 15.00
APRIL - OCTOBER: Mondays: by prior arrangement via telephone ++386(0)51680289
Tuesdays - Fridays: 12.00 - 18.00 (guided tours start at 12.30, 14.30 and 16.30)
Saturdays, Sundays and Holidays: 10.00 - 18.00 (guided tours start at 10.30, 12.30, 14.30 and 16.30)
Seeing the interior of the castle is permitted only with a tourist guide. Guided tours are possible for announced groups (min. 10 persons) at anytime! Please refer to the reception at the entrance (left) to the castle.